Defense Base Act Compensation Blog

The Modern Day DBA Casualty

Will the Real Barney Fife Please Stand Up

Posted by defensebaseactcomp on April 27, 2010

News from Terry Lee Marshall

Can you believe this one:

I write and warn the FBI that because of my crippled up condition I spend alot of time on the internet. I have found in my internet wanderings that “Ebay has become a terrorist’s Wallmart and should be monitored.”

My background:  Busted up in Iraq.  Electronics, explosive chemistry, biochemistry, IEDs.

They stop by to arrest me, accompanied by the Utah County Sheriff’s Bomb Squad.

The cars parked at my house that day scared the hell outa my neighbors. They didn’t like me in the first place.

They asked me who I blamed for my condition? Let’s see my choices: KBR, AIG, Muslims, the Iraqis?

They asked me where I set off my bombs. They keep saying “we got an email.”

After about a dozen references to ‘THE EMAIL’, I finally get a glimpse of it.

“DUH, YOU MORONS. I WROTE THE GOD-DAMN EMAIL!”

Makes you feel warm all over they are out there on the front lines of terrorism.

2 Responses to “Will the Real Barney Fife Please Stand Up”

  1. daffodils said

    I’m a bit confused, Terry. When did this happen, how did they get hold of your email and what did it say? Did they apologize for what appears to have been a genuine misunderstanding or was this meant to intimidate you?

  2. T. Lee Marshall said

    I sent them the email, via the FBI’s website, warning them of what I had noticed. Without giving away too much, for $38.00, plus shipping and handling (lol), I could take out six city blocks– compliments of Ebay. I thought it important at the time. And I got no apologies, but I did get a threat– Federal charges. When they finally figured it out all I could do was laugh at them.

    What was really funny was the bomb squad. They went out to their truck and returned with a long suitcase-looking box like something you’d carry a rifle in. The box was made of fiberglas and lined with foam. What was funny was watching these two burly bomb squad cops carrying this suitcase-looking box back out to their truck– loaded with one, state-of-the-art homemade FIRECRACKER! That doesn’t sound sarcastic, does it?

Leave a Reply

 
