Defense Base Act Compensation Blog

The Modern Day DBA Casualty

Troop Deaths in Afghanistan reach 1,000: How many contractor deaths?

Posted by defensebaseactcomp on May 19, 2010

A sad milestone

One contractor was killed today

A suicide bomb attack in Kabul overnight claimed the lives of 18 people, including five U.S. servicemen. This attack pushed the war effort in Afghanistan past one of those grim milestones. Per today’s New York Times:

On Tuesday, the toll of American dead in Afghanistan passed 1,000, after a suicide bomb in Kabul killed at least five United States service members. Having taken nearly seven years to reach the first 500 dead, the war killed the second 500 in fewer than two. A resurgent Taliban active in almost every province, a weak central government incapable of protecting its people and a larger number of American troops in harms way all contributed to the accelerating pace of death.

7 Responses to “Troop Deaths in Afghanistan reach 1,000: How many contractor deaths?”

  1. Vince_T said

    I have recently received a email inquiry for a position that I applied for in Afghanistan with URS. I am pretty excited since companies like KBR and Dynacorp haven’t even written back in over 3 years. I know it will be dangerous and probably some really tough living conditions, but I am compelled to give it my all and go if I get the chance.

    Thank you for having this site to take any rose colored glasses or unrealistic notions that it’s safe and not to worry. I would like to know if there are any other websites discussing the lives and conditions for US Contractors living and working in Afghanistan?

    Regards,

    Vince T,

    Reno, NV

    • Brit guy said

      Hey Vince I am pleased for you if that is what you want.

      Living conditions are what you would expect in a war zone but it is not all bad

      You will get to make some great friends and they will last you for life.

      However beware make sure you save all the money you earn. Or a least make sure you have about 100k in the bank before leaving. I do not know your circumstances but you will need this fall back position if the worst happens and you are injured which I hope does not happen.

      You have read the posts on here ask your employer who the DBA carrier is then read the ones on here and think hard. Ask before you go and get it in writing if you can what access you will have to medical records if you get injured whilst on deployment.

      A word of advice from someone who knows think long and hard before going.

      Do you have the money to cover your fall back position as the insurer will fight you to keep your money that’s right your money. Can you cover your medical bills for at least a couple of years. Do you have a family that could be made homeless should you get injured.

      I am not trying to scare you but if you do go you are fully aware of the risks that may face you.

      However if you do go good luck keep low move fast

  2. Vince_T said

    Thank you Brit Guy;

    I am single and will go when the offer is made. What is a DBA Carrier, is that an insurance company that would pay should the worst happen? Good to know that I should save all I can in case of such an incident. Are there better DBA’s than others?

    Anyway, hope to hear from you soon.

    Regards,

    Vince Tardalo

    • Brit guy said

      Hi mate well the DBA carrier is the insurance company your employer appoints. It can get quite complicated as to who is insuring you depending on what contract you are on. For your own piece of mind and that of those close to you find out which company it is.

      I would not say do not go as there is a lot of money to be made and it can be a good start in life. The only advice I would give is set yourself a target i.e. I will do 2 years max something like that. Remember every day you roll the dice and one day it might be snake eyes.

      The only thing is if it does go horribly wrong be prepared for the biggest and longest battle of your life. As most of the insurers will automatically deny the claim getting the treatment and benefits you are entitled too can be a living hell. In most cases far worse than anything you will face out there.

      So be careful good luck hope it all works out as I said stay low move fast

    • Vince_T said

      Hey guys I just got my offer letter it’s happening really fast and will let you know what I find out. My Significant Other is a licensed commercial insurance agent and I will have her answer and look into any questions you have. I am confused about the pay with a low dollar hourly and two 35% overseas and hazard uplift. The base if 40K, I was hoping it would be more, but will go anyway since there is little work here in Nevada.

      I am shaking kind of happy but once I get used to working around thousands of people I will do just fine. I thank you guys for taking the time to talk to me about some of the realities of this job.

      Please feel free to ask insurance questions and I will get you credible information if possible. My S/O is named Dawn and she will check my email and help you guys out if she can.

      Vince

  3. Vince_T said

    Thank again. I may look into self insuring myself before I go. I don’t know how low a 6’4″ man can duck, but I can still move pretty fast.

    Will try to get in writing that I will have access to my medical records as a protective measure, and to see what type of ridiculously high premiums I would have to pay stateside to protect my interests should I roll aces.

    Will let you know when I get there and how it’s going (time permitted).

    Vince

    • defensebaseactcomp said

      Vince, We’ve been trying to get some straight answers on supplemental insurance policies but so far none are forthcoming. Let us know if you find anything.
      Keep an eye on us here as we’re working on that and many other issues.
      Stay safe.

Leave a Reply

 
