Defense Base Act Compensation Blog

The Modern Day DBA Casualty

In desperation KBR attorneys attempted to “encourage” Army to reconsider

Posted by defensebaseactcomp on June 4, 2010

June 2, 2010 — Ms Sparky

On February 23, 2010 the law firm of McKenna Long & Aldridge sent a letter to the Army on behalf of their client KBR. The letter was entitled:

Re:  Request for Reconsideration of Denial of Use of LGEN (Ret.) Ricardo S. Sanchez as Expert Witness

Apparently the Army’s recent decision to not allow LGEN (Ret.) Ricardo S. Sanchez to supply expert testimony on KBR’s behalf didn’t sit well.

I first blogged about LGEN Sanchez testimony in March but didn’t have the letter at that time. I have it now and am disturbed at the sheer level of arrogance of KBR’s attorneys.

I am not going reprint the entire three page letter in this post. If you want to read it in it’s entirety click HERE. I am going to highlight what I consider to be the most disturbing and desperate statements in the letter followed by my Ms Sparky (snarky) interpretation.

Read this post at MsSparky’s

2 Responses to “In desperation KBR attorneys attempted to “encourage” Army to reconsider”

  1. Fire in the hole said

    Lets me get this straight! We do what they say or what, they are going to bill us if they lose? Are these knuckleheads that dumb..nevermind, I answered my own question. Sue their butts right back for doing a crappy job, I sure there are plenty witnesses and evidence for that, or do they have some nudie pictures of someone high up in the government they are holding over their head? Right now i have a mental picture of that pumpkin headed dude that runs KBR with a ski mask on with a revolver pointed at Uncle Sam’s wallet and he is sayin give me all your money or i will blow your brains out. This is a good old fashioned mugging if i ever saw one. I guess you can get your own stimulus package with a gun a stick up note. This proves it. Who say’s crime doesnt pay…they have not read this damn letter.

  2. Brit guy said

    I am so pleased that at long last the President of the USA has decided to make sure people meet not only their LEGAL obligations but also their MORAL ones.

    Oh then my disappointment kicked in when he was referring to BP. I agree that BP should meet its obligations in the clean up in the Gulf. I was also pleased to see that he did not want to vent or shout or scream about it but to keep a clear head to resolve the problem.

    As for the shrimp fisherman who appeared on TV wanting his life to get back to normal after six weeks my heart goes out to him. However try three years I would like my life back to as normal as it can be.

    Well Mr President let me shout vent and scream for you.

    STOP THE SOUND BITE MEET YOUR MORAL AND LEGAL OBLIGATIONS

    BP HAS HAD LESS THAN TWO MONTHS TOO SORT THIS OUT.

    YOU SIR HAVE HAD NEARLY EIGHTEEN MONTHS TOO MEET YOUR MORAL AND LEGAL OBLIGATIONS TOO STOP THE ABUSE OF INJURED CONTRACTORS AT THE HANDS OF THE AMERICAN INSURANCE INDUSTRY AND THEIR OVER PAID ATTORNEYS.

    YOU CONTINUE TO ALLOW THEM TO COMMIT FELONIES KNOWING THEY WILL FACE NO SANCTIONS FOR DOING SO.

    NO INVESTIGATION IS CARRIED OUT THE DOL CONTINUE TO MEET THESE PEOPLE IN CANDLESTINE MEETINGS.

    THE NEW BUZZ WORD IN THE INDUSTRY IS RISK MANAGEMENT

    WELL SIR IN CASE YOU DIDN’T KNOW IT MEANS HOW CAN WE PAYLESS NOT HOW CAN WE MEET OUR MORAL AND LEGAL OBLIGATIONS.

    Ah that feels so much better I hope you read this sir so next time you appear in the international media spouting off about MORAL obligations you do not look like a complete fool because the rest of the world has access to the internet and reads these things. And we get the US news channels over here so you are on TV all the time I hope the UK media pick up on this. I am sure they will as I have written too them.

    One last point my claim is over 1million dollars I look forward to receiving every single cent and not some compromised deal your words sir not mine

Leave a Reply

 
