Defense Base Act Compensation Blog

The Modern Day DBA Casualty

AIG, CNA, ACE must also fulfill their legal and moral obligations

Posted by defensebaseactcomp on June 5, 2010

President Obama Friday to BP

“Now, I don’t have a problem with BP fulfilling its legal obligations,” he said. “But I want BP to be very clear, they’ve got moral and legal obligations here in the Gulf for the damage that has been done. And what I don’t want to hear is, when they’re spending that kind of money on their shareholders and spending that kind of money on TV advertising, that they’re nickel-and-diming fishermen or small businesses here in the Gulf who are having a hard time.”

TO:  President Obama from one of our British DBA Casualties

I am so pleased that at long last the President of the USA has decided to make sure people meet not only their LEGAL obligations but also their MORAL ones.

Oh then my disappointment kicked in when he was referring to BP. I agree that BP should meet its obligations in the clean up in the Gulf. I was also pleased to see that he did not want to vent or shout or scream about it but to keep a clear head to resolve the problem.

As for the shrimp fisherman who appeared on TV wanting his life to get back to normal after six weeks,  my heart goes out to him.   However, try three years.   I too would like my life back to as normal as it can be.

Well Mr President let me shout, vent and scream for you.

STOP THE SOUND BITE- MEET YOUR MORAL AND LEGAL OBLIGATIONS

BP HAS HAD LESS THAN TWO MONTHS TO SORT THIS OUT.

YOU SIR HAVE HAD NEARLY EIGHTEEN MONTHS TO MEET YOUR MORAL AND LEGAL OBLIGATIONS TO STOP THE ABUSE OF INJURED CONTRACTORS AT THE HANDS OF THE AMERICAN INSURANCE INDUSTRY AND THEIR OVER PAID ATTORNEYS.

YOU CONTINUE TO ALLOW THEM TO COMMIT FELONIES KNOWING THEY WILL FACE NO SANCTIONS FOR DOING SO.

NO INVESTIGATION IS CARRIED OUT.

THE DOL CONTINUE TO MEET THESE PEOPLE IN CANDLESTINE MEETINGS.

THE  BUZZ WORD IN THE INDUSTRY IS RISK MANAGEMENT

WELL SIR IN CASE YOU DIDN’T KNOW IT MEANS HOW CAN WE PAY LESS NOT HOW CAN WE MEET OUR MORAL AND LEGAL OBLIGATIONS.

Ah that feels so much better I hope you read this sir so next time you appear in the international media spouting off about MORAL obligations you do not look like a complete fool because the rest of the world has access to the internet and reads these things.   We get the US news channels over here so you are on TV all the time.   I hope the UK media pick up on this.  I am sure they will as I have written too them.

One last point, my claim is over one million dollars, I look forward to receiving every single cent and not some compromised deal,  your words sir not mine.


6 Responses to “AIG, CNA, ACE must also fulfill their legal and moral obligations”

  1. defensebaseactcomp said

    We’d like to point out that the previous administration had years and years to do something about this and did not. They were also well aware of the abuse of injured, disabled, contractors by AIG, CNA, ACE.

  2. anonymousonpurpose said

    Hello,

    It does not matter who is in office…our problems are not “sexy” enough to merit attention. We are not media darlings being screwed over…just blood thirsty mercenaries….

    What is a man to do?

    I scream all I can..shout to my representative…yell at the media over and over and over…we just are not important enough. We are greedy whereas the military are ALL “heroes”!

    Everything is about perception…everything.

    Just have to keep on keeping on…one day we will prevail!!!!!

  3. daffodils said

    Thanks for this excellent post, am sure you are speaking for all of us here.
    Strange, the exact same thought crossed my mind when I watched him but then remembered one major difference: the government now owns around 80% of AIG and therefore has a direct financial interest in fighting and denying claims. It’s high time the DBA lawyers do something about this glaring conflict of interest.

    • Brit guy said

      I hope I speak for all contractors whatever their nationality. We all signed up in good faith with promises of protection should the worst happen. Yet this administration is worse than the previous one it likes the sound bite but does not wish to action to stop the abuse.
      In Obamas latest outburst he wants to sack the CEO of BP.
      A question for you then Mr President as the American tax payer is the major share holder in AIG are you not then by default the CEO.
      I look forward to you doing the honourable and morally right thing then sir by falling on your sword and resigning.

  4. Marlo said

    I will say thing. Maybe we should but a dress on it. A little make-up and dress up our problem. Stop passing the buck and get off their high horses and stand up for us. Sometime I feel that they don’t care. They showed it once in 2009. We were promised more then nothing.

Leave a Reply

 
